One of the reasons you may be unable to contact someone on Messenger is that you have been blocked. The realization is unpleasant; therefore, you should confirm that this is the fact. This is not a simple chore on social networking sites. The block feature is meant not to notify the person who has been blocked of their new status. Determining whether you’ve been blocked on Messenger is challenging too, but there are a few red signs to watch. Here’s how to tell whether someone on Messenger has blocked you and anything else you need to know about the subject.
How Does Messenger’s Blocking Function Work?
Understanding how blocking works on Messenger is critical in determining whether or not you are affected by this function. When someone blocks your messages and calls on Instagram or Facebook, you won’t be able to contact them on Messenger. They can even block you directly using Messenger. However, unlike the last situation, this will not prevent you from interacting with that person’s Facebook or Instagram profile. Furthermore, remember that blocking works both ways: you will be unable to contact the other person, but they will be unable to send you messages or call you via Messenger.
If you can’t reach someone on Messenger, it sometimes means they’ve blocked you. Facebook may also limit your activity if they feel it violates their community standards or if you’ve recently sent many messages. Outgoing message messages can also be caused by a bad internet connection, insufficient storage, or a stale app update. Unfortunately, no built-in feature will tell you whether someone has blocked you on Messenger, so you’ll never be certain. However, keeping a watch on the progress of your message is a good sign that anything is wrong. Check out the list below to find out what to pay attention to.
How To Easily Tell If Someone Blocked You On Messenger On An iPhone?
Use the iOS app to determine whether someone has blocked you on Messenger.
1 – Open the Messenger app.
2 – Start a conversation with the person you suspect blocked you.
3 – Enter a message and press the send button.
A little circle will display next to the message, indicating its current status. If your internet connection is working properly, the empty circle should initially transform into a checkmark with a white background, indicating that the message was successfully delivered. The circle will then be filled up, indicating that the message was delivered. There are two possible explanations for the circle remaining white:
1 – The person has logged out of their account.
2 – You have been blocked.
Whether the person in question is a Facebook user, check their profile to see if they have lately been active. If their profile shows that they are logged in, they have probably blocked you on Messenger. Remember that this test will fail if you’re messaging a non-friend for the first time. Your message will be sent to their message request box with no receipts until they respond.
How To Easily Tell If Someone Blocked You On Messenger On An Android Device?
The following method allows Android users to determine whether someone on Messenger has blocked them.
1 – Launch the Messenger app.
2 – Pick a conversation with the person you suspect has blocked you.
3 – Click the “Arrow” button to send them a message.
An empty circle will first show next to your message. When a checkmark appears in this circle, your message is successfully sent. The circle is filled up when your message is delivered.
If the checkmark’s background stays white, the person has either logged out of their account or has blocked you. Go to their Facebook page to find out what the situation is. If their Facebook profile shows recent activity, they have most likely blocked you on Messenger.
Remember that texting someone who isn’t a Facebook friend will put your message into their requests box first and will not show receipts. As a result, there are more effective approaches to determining whether you’ve been blocked by a person you’ve never spoken to.
How To Easily Tell If Someone Blocked You On Messenger On A PC?
You may also use Messenger on a computer to see whether someone has blocked you. Take the following steps:
1 – Log in to the Messenger website.
2 – Search for the conversation with the person you suspect has blocked you.
3 – Send a message.
Examine the status indication circle next to your message. When your message is sent, the empty circle will have a checkmark in the middle, and the background of the checkmark will be filled in once the message is delivered. This normally takes a few seconds.
One possible cause for your message being sent but not delivered is that the person you’re texting has logged out. First, check their Facebook profile to determine whether they have lately been active. If you’ve established that they aren’t logged out of their account, your message isn’t being delivered because they’ve blocked you.
Please remember that this test will not function if you are messaging a non-friend for the first time. This is because message requests deactivate receipts until they are approved.
Is It Possible To Tell If Someone Blocked You On Messenger Without Actually Sending A Message?
There is no reliable method to tell whether you have been blocked on Messenger. Previously, a message at the bottom of a Facebook Messenger discussion that said, “You can’t reply to this conversation,” plainly showed that one side had blocked the other. Unfortunately, this functionality is no longer accessible in the new Messenger. Instead, whether this person is a Facebook user, you can interact with their profile to check if they have blocked you on Facebook, which instantly blocks you on Messenger.
1 – Visit Facebook and log in.
2 – Use the “Search” icon in the upper-left corner to search for the user’s profile.
If you cannot locate their profile, you must confirm that it still exists. Request that a friend searches for them, or log out of Facebook and google their name. If their profile appears, they’ve blocked you on Facebook and Messenger.
How To Easily Tell If Someone Blocked You On Messenger (But Not Facebook)?
Well, if someone blocks you on Facebook, you won’t be able to contact them on Messenger. Nevertheless, blocking someone directly on Messenger is also feasible, which keeps your access to their Facebook intact. Even if someone on Messenger blocks you, you may still communicate with their profile. Check Messenger to discover if you’ve been blocked.
1 – Launch the Messenger iOS or Android app, or go to the Messenger website.
2 – Start a conversation with the person you wish to put to the test.
3 – Send them a message and keep an eye on the “Couldn’t send” status signal.
If the status indication circle next to your message fills up within a few seconds, they’ve received it, and you aren’t blocked. Your message was sent but not delivered if the circle remains white with a checkmark in the middle. This might indicate that the person has blocked you.
Then, go to Facebook and look for this user’s profile. If their profile does not appear, they either delete it or block you. If the account seems regular, you have not been blocked on Facebook by this person. However, if they’ve lately been active on this platform, they should have gotten your message. As a result, they may have blocked you on Messenger.
When you can’t contact a certain person on Messenger, it’s natural to suspect that you’ve been blocked. While the app’s block feature is subtle, a few subtle hints might confirm your assumption. Did you find a solution to your question in this guide? Do you know of any other signs that you’ve been blocked on Messenger? Please share your thoughts in the comments box below.